top of page

Portobello Scholar Night and Climbing Ben Nevis

Hi all! It's been a busy last couple of weeks with a lot of school work, but I had a chance to relax a little bit this weekend after I turned in some assignments and the timing could not have been better. The Rotary Club of Portobello held a Hawaiian dinner night this past Thursday for the scholars and their sponsors. It was a blast. My sponsor, Stuart, was awarded with a Paul Harris fellowship. It was a great night for me as well as I was able to wear my favorite Hawaiian shirt with no one making fun of me. Friday, my girlfriend and I traveled to Fort William in the Scottish Highlands after we finished classes to climb Ben Nevis, the tallest mountain in the British Isles. We spent about 7 hours on Saturday making the 16 mile round trip up to the peak of Ben Nevis at 4,411 feet. Despite the wind, rain, and cold, we had an amazing time. The views on the way up were spectacular, even though we could not see anything at the top. I would be lying if I said my legs were not still sore three days later though. We also had a chance to try some Highland food in Fort William, and see some beautiful views on the train ride back towards Edinburgh. I hope everyone is doing well and prepared for Halloween and I'll make sure to post some pictures from Ben Nevis and of my Hawaiian shirt. Feel free to e-mail me at Davidthfarr@gmail.com if you have any questions or comments, or are going to find yourself in Scotland any time soon!

bottom of page